Two former Mr Gay World™s, a fragrance and cosmetics pioneer and a multi-award-winning actor, director and producer are amongst a star-studded judging panel for the virtual editions of 2020 and 2021 Mr Gay World™ events.

The first competition since 2019 begins this weekend when Mr Gay World™ 2020 will commence the first of its two online sessions and the judges have now been announced.

The judging panel will be headed by President, Owner and Founder of Mr Gay World™ Eric Butter, Rubin van Niekerk from GayPages as head judge and they will be joined by current Mr Gay World™ and family doctor Fran Alvarado.

Mr Gay World™ 2014 Stuart Hatton will also be on the judging panel alongside Multi-Award Winning Actor, Director and Producer Lee-Ann van Rooi and Neuro-linguistic Programming Masters Practitioner Jacques Avril du Toit.

Michael Fisher the pioneer of aspirational yet affordable fragrances and cosmetics in South Africa is also taking his place on the judging panel alongside Photographer Rudi du Toit, Attorney and LGBTQ+ Rights Activist Coenraad Kukkuk, 2018 Mrs South Africa, TV personality, and The Impact Hub founder Nicole Capper and the Editor of Winq Edwin Reinerie.

Nine delegates will take part in the first part of the 2020 event and at the end of the two-week judging process, Mr Gay World™ 2020 will be crowned. The broadcast will begin this Saturday (9 October 2021) at 20:00 CAT/GMT+2 and next Saturday (16 October 2021) at 20:00 CAT/GMT+2.

2020 Delegates
Czech – Slovak Republic: Daniel Moony, 34
India: Shyam Konnur, 32
Mexico: Vincente Miron, 32
Philippines: Kodie Macayan, 31
Poland: Marek Piekarczyk, 29
Puerto Rico: Mickey Rivera, 32
South Africa: Charl-Jaquairdo van Helsdingen, 30
Spain: Zabdiel Nayz, 29
Thailand: Pattarapon Ko Jaiyen, 39

Public voting is now open and you can vote now for your favourite by going to Mr Gay World™ 2020 online voting deadline has been extended by popular demand and will now run until 10pm (GMT) Tuesday 12 October 2021. Each vote will cost ZAR8.00 and you can vote as many times as you want. Use your voice, make it count, VOTE!


For more details or to arrange interviews please contact Tony at

Select images for use by media are available here.


#MGW2020 #MGW2021


Gay World Events and Gay World Pageants in partnership with Gay World Foundation
in association with The Impact Hub presents Mr Gay World™ 2020 and Mr Gay World™ 2021 The Virtual Editions.

Director: Kosie Smit
Writer: Wim Vorster
Producer: John O’Neil
Assistant Producer: Johann van Niekerk
Executive Producer: Eric Butter

Eric Butter (President, Owner and Founder of Mr Gay World™)
Rubin van Niekerk (Editor GayPages
Edwin Reinerie (Editor Winq)
Fran Alvarado (Current Mr Gay World™ and Family Doctor)
Coenraad Kukkuk (Attorney and LGBTQ+ Rights Activist)
Lee-Ann van Rooi (Multi-Award Winning Actor, Director and Producer)
Jacques Avril du Toit (Neuro-linguistic Programming Masters Practitioner)
Stuart Hatton (Mr Gay World™ 2014 and Businessman)
Michael Fisher (The pioneer of aspirational yet affordable fragrances and cosmetics in South Africa)
Rudi du Toit (Photographer)
Nicole Capper (2018 Mrs South Africa, TV personality, and The Impact Hub founder)

Audit Firm: Mazars South Africa
Auditor: Ian Ferreira-Massyn
Presenters: Elzabé Zietsman, Earl Gregory
Communications: Tony Richens (Gay Nation), Nicole Austin (The Impact Hub), Jacques Marais (Write Touch)
Editor: Kosie Smit
First Unit: Garden Route Media
Camera: Stefan Kloppers
Lighting Technician: Damian Hennessy
Sound: Snowy du Preez
Second Unit Camera: Rudi du Toit
Hair/Makeup: Jovan Calvert
Locations: Villa Castollini Knysna, Rexford Manor Knysna, Private residence of Tony & Ansie Berbridge Knysna, The Greens Guest House Knysna

Gay World Foundation
Non-Profit Company Registration Number 2021 / 301119 / 08
SARS PBO Number 9179400248